Meeting Highlights and Awards

Home > Meetings > Past Annual Meetings > Meeting Highlights and Awards

Abstracts 2016  | Scientific Program 2016  |  E-Posters
CME/CPD Accreditation  |  2016 General Assembly Minutes  |  Photo Gallery
Workshops 2016  |  Webcasts 2016


2016 Support

MASCC 2016 Annual Meeting Highlights

MASCC’S 25th Anniversary: Past, Present, and Future
The 2016 MASCC/ISOO Annual Meeting on Supportive Care in Cancer was held in Adelaide, Australia, from June 23-25, 2016. This year marked MASCC’s 25th anniversary and ISOO’s 30th. Over 1070 delegates from more than 50 countries attended the meeting, with a sizable turnout from Australia and Asia. The meeting featured six pre-conference Study Group workshops, a pre-conference cancer nurse practitioner workshop, plenary sessions on survivorship, gastrointestinal toxicity, and the future of supportive care, a patient seminar, e-posters, and a parallel paper session for each MASCC Study Group. In addition, numerous members were recognized with awards and honors, such as the Distinguished Service Award and Outstanding Young Investigator Award. >> Read our special Issue of the MASCC Society News – Annual Meeting 2016 

2016 MASCC/ISOO 25th celebration

New MASCC President, Ian Olver, MD
Succeeding David Warr, MD, Ian Olver became MASCC’s new President at this year’s Annual Meeting. A medical oncologist, bioethicist, and researcher, Ian is Director of the Sansom Institute for Health Research, Professor of Translational Cancer Research and Dean of Research Strategy in the Division of Health Sciences at University of South Australia. A member of MASCC’s Executive Committee, Ian has chaired the Publications Committee for 6 years, and with Dorothy Keefe, chaired the 2016 MASCC/ISOO Annual Meeting in Adelaide.

2016 MASCC/ISOO Annual Meeting 

MASCC Distinguished Service Award: Matti Aapro, MD
MASCC’s highest honor, the Distinguished Service Award was presented to Matti Aapro, MD, at this year’s Annual Meeting. The Award recognizes meritorious achievement and outstanding contributions to the Society and its mission. Currently Dean of the Multidisciplinary Oncology Institute, Genolier, Switzerland, Matti Aapro is widely recognized for his achievements in numerous areas of oncology and supportive cancer care. His expertise and energetic leadership have significantly furthered the aims of MASCC around the world.

MASCC DSA-Aapro Matti


Outstanding Young Investigator Award: Luke Peppone, PhD, MPH
Luke Peppone, PhD, MPH, was the recipient of this year’s Outstanding Young Investigator Award for his research project titled, “Efficacy of Omega-3 (ω-3) Supplementation versus Omega-6 (ω-6) Supplementation for Reducing Cancer-related Fatigue Among Breast Cancer Survivors: A URCC NCORP Randomized Controlled Trial.” Luke holds a PhD in Epidemiology and Community Health from SUNY Buffalo and currently holds a dual appointment as Research Assistant Professor in the Department of Surgery and the Department of Orthopaedics, School of Medicine and Dentistry, University of Rochester Medical Center in Rochester, New York, USA.

Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Award: Nicole Kiss, PhD, AdvAPD
Nicole Kiss, PhD, AdvAPD, received the Steven M. Grunberg Memorial Award for scientific excellence, leadership, and mentoring in the field of supportive care in cancer. Nicole is an Advanced Accredited Practising Dietitian and Senior Clinician (Dietitian) at Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre in Melbourne, Australia. Her research focuses on the relationships between nutritional status and weight loss, as well as nausea and vomiting, in cancer patients being treated with chemo-radiotherapy, and the effects of nutritional and exercise interventions. At the meeting, Nicole presented her research titled, “Skeletal Muscle Depletion and Relationshp to Survival in NSCLC Patients Receiving Chemo-radiation.”

2016 MASCC/ISOO Award Winners


Young Investigator Awards
This year, the MASCC Awards Committee awarded Young Investigator Awards to ten applicants. Successful applicants must be less than 40 years old and their abstracts must rank in the top 20% of those submitted. The 2016 awardees are Petra Stolz Baskett (Switzerland), Hee-Jun Kim (Republic of Korea), Hiromitsu Kitayama (Japan), Luke Peppone (USA), Vinay Kumar Ramaiah (India), Srinivas Raman (Canada), Romany Stansborough (Australia), Daniel Thorpe (Australia), Rebeca Vasconcelos (USA), and Hannah Wardill (Australia).

2016 MASCC/ISOO Award Winners


Travel Scholarship Winners
Travel scholarships are awarded to applicants from developing countries to help cover travel expenses to attend the MASCC Annual Meeting. This year’s recipients were Atul Batra (India), Xiaoli Gu (China), Claire Habito (Phillippines), Abhishek Kandwal (India), Uday Venkat Mateti (India), Sandip Mukhopadhay (India), Andrew T. Olagunju (Nigeria), Raghavendra Ramanju (India), Madhup Rastogi (India), Julius X. Scott (India), Pragyat Thakur (India), and Hadi Zamanian (Iran).

2016 MASCC/ISOO Travel Scholarships


Cynthia N. Rittenberg Travel Scholarship Winner
From among the Travel Scholarship applicants, the highest-ranking nurse applicant is awarded the Cynthia N. Rittenberg Travel Scholarship. This year the award went to Pamela Were (Kenya).

2016 Symposium Chair: Dorothy Keefe and Ian Olver
Congress Organizer: Kenes International